TREESTANDMAN

SAKO 85 FINNLIGHT .270 WSM

I'm considering a purchase of a .270 wsm as I had to sell my Tikka .270 wsm last year to pay debts. I want it to be fairly lightweight and also start re-loading which I have never done before. I will have a lot more time now to go to the range and work my way up to hopefully 600 yds or so. I loved my Tikka so I'm looking to get a little bit better quality of a rifle and thinking of going with the same maker in the Sako 85 Finnlight .270 wsm.

I know this is kind of a chevy/ford opinion question but what do you guys think? If price were not an issue?

1. Sako 85 Finnlight .270 wsm?

2. Remington 700 BDL .270 wsm?

3. Tikka .270 wsm?

4. Howa?

5. Thompson Arms?

6. Ruger?

7. Winchester?

8. Savage? ( Suprisingly my research recommeded a savage or stevens)

9. Weatherby Mark V or IV?

10. Weatherby Vanguard?

11. Kimber?

12. Other?

Lets hear you long range guys opinions!!

Remington 700, no question about it.

Cant beat the .270 wsm. I love mine and can give you plenty of load advice if you need it.

I have a weatherby vangaurd all weather in 270 wsm. I love the gun and love the caliber. However if your looking for a light gun your probably better off to go with the Sako 85 finnlight. its probably better quality too since vangaurd is weatherby's cheaper line of rifles.

Hey Casey, why would I go with the remington 700 over the sako or Weatherby Mark V or eve Tikka? From what I understand, remington barrels can be lemons or shooters and that is why they do not guarantee anything under an inch at 100 yds. They may have one of the better actions which is useful for custom barrels, but why risk getting a lemon barrel when I can be guarranteed a performer? I'm not saying your wrong, I've got 2 buddies that told me to go Remington 700 as well!