338EdgeMan

Ethical Bow Range

I am new to archery hunting and I absolutely love it. I was wondering what range you veteran archers feel is ethical to harvest big game in Arizona(Mainly mule deer and elk). Can you shoot a hunting bow at ranges from 60yds to 100yds accurately? And if you are accurate does a broadhead have the kinetic energy at those ranges to perform? If one can put the practice in multiple times a week are these ranges possible? And if so what wieght arrow, fletching type, bow sight, draw weight do you guys have luck with?

Before I dropped a truck on my arm during my desert sheep hunt, when I still could draw a bow, my self-imposed maximum distance for shooting arrows at javelinas was the length of a pickup. This was before everyone had compound bows with sights, and that was as far as I could be sure of hitting anything at least once out of every three or four shots. I lost a lot of arrows, even at that, but I had fun. :)

Bill Quimby

assuming you have a chrono, shoot arrows through it at various ranges to determine K.E. at said distances. Exactly like bullets, heavy resists wind and maintains k.e. better. Fixed blades penetrate better. As for determining max range, its between you and you conscience. The way i determine is being able to hold a group the size of the vitals of the critter im going after under field conditions with broadheads. to be able to deliver consistanly one must treat it like match rifle shooting. You need match grade equipment, tuning, and "ammo," not shelf garbage. quality fita shooters can hold amazing groups at 90m in the wind w/ recurves. It takes an immense amount of work, both with equipment and form to achieve this. The big thing is develop your skills and equipment and be honest with yourself, just like anything else.

I'm just gonna sit back and enjoy the show - ethical type posts can be quite entertaining.