Sign in to follow this  
Bryson Bendall

Big bucks... What does it take?

Let me preface this by saying that I would be the first to agree that the score of a deer, and to be honest, the fact that you harvest a deer is not the only reason I hunt... There is so much more that I love about hunting then just antler... But, I would be deceiving you if I didn't say that antlers aren't part of the fun..

That being said...I knew it would be a busy fall/winter for me so I opted to buy a bonus point rather than put in for deer this year. I have been out 3 days on three different hunts... I know... pitiful, but I am grateful for those few days. So... in a way I have been living vicariously through each of your posts. It has been a great year so far with some beautiful deer taken and I can't help but notice that some of you dedicated hunters take trophy deer every year. I have been hunting coues deer for about 14 years and I have seen a few nice bucks while out and about... lets say 7-10 bucks that would score around 100 inches. However, I have never laid eyes on anything like some of the bucks you regularly harvest. So... what does it take?

How many hours do you spend in the field a year?

How far do you hike from the roads? 1 mile...2, 3?

Do you hike in in the morning and hike out in the evening or do you typically pack in and stay a few days?

Do you go to the same spot every year and harvest nice deer (maybe the same square mile or two for example) or do you hunt different units or different areas in the same unit?

Do you scout to find a specific buck, and then hunt them specifically?

Do you use trail cameras?

When you are out there hunting, are the bigger bucks typically bedded down when you find them? Are thy in the thickest cover?

When you are at work and supposed to be working but instead you are cruising around on google earth to find monster buck country, what do you look for? away from roads? Cover? A certain side of the hill? funnels?