apache12

Anyone have trouble with stick powder in their powder measure

Ok. I'm a novice.

I built my table this weekend and set my press

I have a hornady powder measure and I degreased it in full. Set it and I'm running imr 4350 and its stick powder and it seems to bind like some powder kernels are getting jammed and binding it when I charge the handle. Causes inefficient loads

I read some forums that said they had issues with stick powder

I disassembled cleaned again. And same issue

Seems odd to have your measure dictate the type of powder you use

Am I making a rookie mistake?

post-5454-0-62098400-1435632942_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

I don't use a thrower for rifle loads. I have a set of old Lee powder spoons and a few cut down cases that I use to get close to my load then I'll trickle up. The electronic scale/measuring units come in handy.

The first thing I did when i bought my reloading kit was sell the powder thrower.

If you want to use it, set it to throw low and use the trickler to get your desired charge weight.

• Like 2

Stick powders can definitely "bridge" in the spout. Sometimes you can tap it and get it to flow, otherwise dump that one and throw another, especially if you are not trickling up to the final weight on a scale. This is the reason the "short cut" powders were developed. Ball powders will not do this, although they can be more temp sensitive in my experience.

My RCBS measure has two spouts with different internal diameters. If yours does use the larger one...

Re-reading your post, It sounds like you are feeling the kernels being cut by the drum when rotating. That is normal for long stick powders.

Edited by Mike S
  • Like 1

So if you chuck the powder measure what do you use?