Sign in to follow this  
rcdinaz

Tire pressure for towing?

Okay I did google this one but there were so many different answers I figured I would see what you guys with trailers do locally.

Vehicle: Avalanche with 35" M/T tires on 18" wheels, load E, max PSI 80 (yikes)

If I am towing a ~5,000lb trailer how should I run my tires. From google and many forums I have seen anywhere from 40-65 PSI. Most recommend front ~5lbs less than rear (when towing). From the tire shop they were set around ~38lbs.

I'm not a tire expert but I do pull a trailer quite a bit. I like to keep my back tires at at least 50 but I don't have 18s, so not too sure how much of a difference that would make. I would not run them at 40 though, that's seems to be a little too soft.

40 highway use, 30 moderate off road, 50 light trailers (0-5k) 55-65 heavy ackward trailer (4500-6k) tongue weight is more important than overall weight and tires heat while driving. If you go over recommended (on the side wall) it could heat and bubble or blow. Not likely at all but could with a big tire like that. Hard question to answer not knowing your trailer specs but I'd say cold pressure would be 50

• Like 1

Thanks for the feedback!

I read that the larger the wheel usually a bit more PSI as well. Sounds like 50 all around is a good starting point and see how it looks and feels.

Thanks for the feedback!

I read that the larger the wheel usually a bit more PSI as well. Sounds like 50 all around is a good starting point and see how it looks and feels.

looks are second or 3rd!!! Haha feel is everything! It's only your life bud, not a big deal?

F250 diesel my e rated are at 70. Pull up to 10k lbs

this

Load range E and Max psi is 80 I would run close to that. I run about max psi in my rear when towing with my F250 and a little lower in the front. That's what they are designed for. Don't risk being too low and letting that tire roll over to the rim.

Thanks for the feedback!