Sign in to follow this  
joelpresmyk8

Weird ring on brass

I'm still new to reloading and have no idea what could be causing this on my brass.byou can see the color change and there is a little bit of a raised ring too. This case is on its 3rd firing. Hopefully you can see it in the pic

post-7395-0-14924300-1452053955_thumb.jpg

I'm still new to reloading and have no idea what could be causing this on my brass.byou can see the color change and there is a little bit of a raised ring too. This case is on its 3rd firing. Hopefully you can see it in the pic

Normal compression during full length sizing. This is where the die body can't size any further because it is stopped by the lock ring clearance setpoint. If you sized further toward the shellholder, you might collapse the case.

forepaw

The "case head" or "web" starts near that line as well. The brass is a bit thicker there and doesn't expand at the same rate. It can begin to separate at the junction when overly worked.

You can take a straightened paper clip and bend a small 90 deg at one end to insert and "scratch" along the inside of the case near that line. You will be able to feel when the split is getting ready to occur.

• Like 1

You can reduce the stress on your brass at that point by neck sizing rather than full length sizing. Also make sure you are not 'bumping' the shoulder too much.

Ok awesome thank you everyone for the information. Would you mind elaborating pine donkey?