LonePineOutdoors_AZ

Teamwork and spotting/guiding a shooter in on a buck

Hi All,

This was a hard one to research prior to posting. Plenty of people touch on guiding a hunter in as a spotter and the teamwork it requires. From having a dedicated, reliable glasser, to good communication, there's a lot of kinks to iron out. 

I'm still new to archery hunting, and hunting in general, but this last archery deer season, I had a the most chances yet to stalk bucks with spotter and radio to guide me in. I blew each one, for one reason or another. The learning curve is/was steep, but there seems to be a lot of good information from Jay Scott, this forum, and a few other locations, to help me capitalize on my failures.

One thing I haven't seen covered, which I had to experience and deal with, is how to effectively communicate distances and the direction from the spotter to the hunter. On a few of the stalks, there was a gross difference between the spotter's distance judgments, and my reality on the ground near the deer. For instance,

Situation: spotter is approx. 1300yds away, looking through a Swaro 15x56's, Swaro BTX 30x, or a Swaro STS 20-60x80 HD

issue 1: we have phone skope images that support the spotter telling me I was 35-45 yds from a buck. In reality, I ranged him at 85 when he popped up unexpectedly. 

Issue 2: The spotters perception of the buck's position relative to the direction he perceived I was facing, was about 45 degrees difference from how I perceived it. He also couldn't account for the slight incline I was on, at least from the photos.

I'm not trying to bag on my spotter, the photo's all support why he made the calls he did. Has anyone experienced this? How do we work out those gaps in communication/perception?

When being guided in assume a wide margin of error. It's just part of the game.  It's a much easier task with rifle then a bow. 

• Like 3