Sign in to follow this  
Coffeeman

Field Judging Coues

I am new to hunting Coues and I have the Dec. hunt in 6A. I am getting ready to hit the hills scouting, and was just curious what I should be looking for in a mature buck. Antlers outside the ears? Any suggestions would help! Thanks

hello most people got the idea that 100 is the magic # of coruse anything over helps - here what a kinda need to look for

g-1's - 5 in = 10in ---- the eyes guards

g-2's - 8 in = 16in ---- the first point

g-3's - 6 in = 12in ---- the second point

mb's - 14 in = 28 in---- length of each antler

spd - 14 in = 14in ---- spread- insides greatest width

mass - 10 in = 20 in---- mass in 3 measurements - (4 1/2 )(3)(2 1/2) 10in --- total mass 20 approx

----

for a perfect score of 100 on a typical 3x3 coues

hello most people got the idea that 100 is the magic # of coruse anything over helps - here what a kinda need to look for

mass - 10 in = 20 in---- mass in 3 measurements - (4 1/2 )(3)(2 1/2) 10in --- total mass 20 approx

----

It doesn't seem like I get a whole lot of time to look at the points and estimate how long they are and come up with a score when I find a shooter, maybe one of these days I'll find a shooter bedded so I can do that. My advice is to look for length, length in his main beams and his points (where obviously the more points the better), that is where you'll make up a lot when it comes to score. Spread and mass do not make big differences in score when it all boils down to it. BTW, in reference to the above post, even on a 3x3 you get 4 mass measurements per side, you just take the last one (H4) between the G3 and the end of the main beam. You hit the nail on the head in your original post, look for a mature buck, and to do that you have to look at their bodies to determine age on the hoof. Any mature buck is a trophy, remember it is a buck's age that makes him elusive, not his horns.