I recently got a Ruger American in 30-06 that I plan on using for bear this fall and don't know what grain ammo would be best for shooting out to 400-500 yds. Any advice is greatly appreciated

I am by no means an expert on the subject, but I am running a 180 grain through my 30-06 for bear. So far, I have shot them to 200 yards and they are working great. Going to head out whenever fire restrictions are lifted to shoot a farther distance.

• Like 1

I used 180 grain rounds for sighting in my .30-06 at 100 yards. Never shot further than about 10 yards at a bear before with that set-up.

For the most energy possible shoot the heaviest grain bullet your gun likes. The 168 or 180s should work fine though.

I used 180 grain rounds for sighting in my .30-06 at 100 yards. Never shot further than about 10 yards at a bear before with that set-up.

10 yds! You've got some Juevos Keith.

I use 168gr as an all around round from coues to elk in my -06 but would consider 180 for bear.

• Like 1

Not juevos, just lucky when calling. I am certainly scared to death with bears coming in that close, but I am too excited and pumped with adrenaline to process my fear until after the event.

Other than archery bear, I have moved up to a .300 win mag and 180 gr bullets for fall bear. Like Casey, I also prefer the Barnes TTSX line, but accubonds are great too.

Guest akaspecials

A 30-06 will do more than enough damage to kill a bear at that distance with anything from 150-180 grain. Just matters what shoots well out of your gun. Also, make sure you take drop into consideration. That round had terrible trajectory after a few hundred yards and my ballistic charts have always had to be home made since they don't match up wiht what the "experts" say it should be.