Sign in to follow this  
tomgobbler

1/2 a beef

Now that the draw is done & some freezers wont be getting any elk or deer in them anyone need any beef ? Ive got a really nice steer Im getting ready to take in . Been on nice grass irrigated pasture , not out in tbe dry scrub . My son has a cow elk tag, & we had two cows last year . So Ill be lucky if I get 1/2 in my freezer , so decided to part with the other half . Around 18-20 months old , grass pasture all natural , no hormones . Im no expert on weight & I do not have a scale . But these are fat and sassy & ready to go & not skin & bones turned out culls . $1350.00 for half , cut & wrapped by malapia meat packing , according to your specs .

• Like 4

Finished pounds is a hard thing to calculate . How you get it cut up & what you save / eat out of your half . If u leavee all fat, or have it trimmed with no fat , if you keep heart / liver / tongue. If you have everything deboned etc ... all of these makes a difference ....

This is roughly what I came up with for price after looking at what I had in These steers , what the QUALITY of these are . And after looking at quite a few different adds on processed beef for sale .

I’m guessing at 950 lbs live weight. The average hanging weight is .62% so that’s 589 lbs half of that 294.4 lbs x $3.50 hanging weight is $1030.75. + about $400 to process . = $1430.75 ... I rounded down to an even $1350 to give the benefit to the buyer if I was off a few pnds .... there is an add for beef out of chino valley for $5.00 a pnd hanging weight but that includes processing , with these same #’s that would be $1470.00 , a couple others I found were $4 hanging plus processing = $1578.00 , then I found a few at $6 & $6.50...

So I think my $1350 is a pretty fair deal on the quality you are getting.