Sign in to follow this  
regisranger

2018 Colorado Bucks

This deer season was definitely one for the books! I have been a student in Colorado now for 4 years and have always wanted to chase rutting bucks in November with a rifle. The past 3 years I had chased deer with my bow and I thought it was time to switch over to a rifle after helping on a 3rd season hunt last year. We had 4 tags total, three 3rd season and one 4th season. My roommate and I both had 3rd season tags as well as his dad. My dad, on the other hand, had 4th season. My dad has never shot a deer over his years of hunting so I was mainly focused on using 3rd season to locate some bucks for him. Weather was awful the first two days with 50mph winds and 14 inches of snow. My buddies dad barely made it in time after blowing a turbo on the drive from AZ. He only had two days and the opening day weather didn't look promising. The low temps and snow were good in terms of pushing deer down low but the lack of visibility was a dampener for the two days his dad could hunt. The day two forecast listed 4 hours of clear skies and we knew that would be our opportunity. With some luck his dad had a good 4 point down within an hour just in time before visibility was gone once again. I didn't hunt days 3 or 4 due to some things I needed to get done. On day 5 we tried a new area to the east of some private we had located some deer. Once again within an hour my buddy shot a small 3 point. While packing out we located what we thought was a good buck bedded in some aspen. We made a move to get closer and it was a small 4. I was looking for a mature buck so decided to pass. We hunted hard, located a lot of deer but nothing worthy of my bullet other than two bucks hanging on private. I was down to my last day so I decided to hunt the south side of the private these bucks were on. The evening before this there was an excursion driving the private which got the deer moving south. With these two bucks being the only shooter