Sign in to follow this  
lonne

Another finally...

I've been hunting bear for 6 years in Arizona...closest I've come is seeing one in the last hour during the Spring Archery hunt, think that was my 3rd year bear hunting. I hand called a deer in once that scared the daylights out of me because it came storming in snorting and angry blowing a fawn bleet call, never saw it, my friends did, but man did it scare the daylights out of me! Another time calling called a coyote in and shot it with my bow, that was exciting.

I've been trying every year, and one summer I think my wife about had it with me because I was going out every single weekend hiking my butt off and sat in a treestand 100+ hours with nothing but a snake and a deer sighting. When Kidso talks about an addiction, he isn't kidding.

I had read about a San Carlos hunt for years, and thought it sounded really cool! I finally decided I was going to try it this year, and I'm glad I did. What a beautiful beautiful place. You do have to put some time into finding them! Unless you are one of those people where they just happen to run across the road in front of you, or just have good luck seeing bears, I had to work a bit to find them. There are definitely alot of bears out there if you put some work into it. My first trip with my cousin and his friend, we didn't see any but we did catch some trout. We weren't putting enough work into it. I did some follow up trips and I think my 3rd or 4th trip out I finally spotted a bear. Then I really started spotting some bears after putting in some driving & boot time looking for good areas and glassed up 8 in one weekend. Including a beautiful blonde colored sow but unfortunately she had cubs, and a couple of really nice big boars.

I always seem to work hard and if I get something it's usually on the last day. I've had luck with Adam once and scored a turkey opening day and so did he.