trophymaster

Load Development Help

Need some assistance on load development for my 300WM. Trying to figure out if my groups are shooter induced or gun just doesn't like the loads so far.

Gun is a Weatherby Mark V, 26" barrel

Loads were 71, 72, 73, 74grs of 4831SC with Hornady 180SST's 3.365 OAL at 100yds shooting of a table and lead sled.

To clarify I am new to reloading. Any help or suggestions is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

post-160-0-33202600-1475338399_thumb.jpg

Weatherby mag or Win mag?

I would try a different powder. H1000, Retumbo, R22, R25 should all be good powder to try.

Try changing your length too.

• Like 1

Your vertical spread looks pretty good with 73 grains.

The horizontal stringing could be a number of factors. Trigger pull would be a common one. If you don't wait long enough between shots your barrel could be really hot after 8-10 shots which could be another factor.

Weatherby mag or Win mag?

I would try a different powder. H1000, Retumbo, R22, R25 should all be good powder to try.

Try changing your length too.

I am going to go out on a limb and say he is shooting the Weatherby based on the grains of 4350 as the Win Mag would use less. I agree on using a slower powder and or playing with OAL but they like a bit of freebore.

Do you have a chronograph? I would also ditch the sled. What does it shoot like with factory ammo?

Its is a 300 Winchester Mag, powder is 4831SC, OAL is about max to fit into magazine(magazine is 3.4"), I don't have a chrony, only shot a few factory ammo through it seemed to like barnes ttsx 165 the best, tried factory 150's and they were all over the place. Figured would start with 180's and go from there max hunting distance would be 700yds (my capabilties, not comfortable shooting beyond that on game yet)

• Like 1

Yeah, try a different powder. H1000 or retumbo would be my starting point