Sign in to follow this  
Elk_oholic

Drew AZ Unit 8 Late season Rifle Bull--Help Please.

I got drawn for a Bull Elk Hunt in Unit 8 and plan to rifle hunt the Sycamore Canyon area during the first week of December. I've been hunting deer for 15 + years and elk for the past 5 years in Colorado. I am a meat hunter but for this hunt I will try to hold back for a 300+ inch bull, at least for the first few days. I moved to Colorado from Upstate New York earlier this year, but I had been planning to move to Arizona and plans changed at the last minute. Since I was planning on an Arizona move I had been accumulating points for the past 3 years. Since I ended up moving to Colorado instead, I decided to cash in my AZ points and this will likely be a once in lifetime hunt for me in AZ. I'll be in the Canyon scouting the area on 6/9, 6/10, 6/11. I'm looking for someone that knows the unit well and didn't get drawn this year that might like to join in on this expedition. Please respond if interested. Of course, any information or tips on this unit would be much appreciated. Thanks for all your help!

I've hunted Unit 10 but never 8. The weather will play a huge factor and in that hunt you could get rain or snow for a few days or it could be just cold and dry with night time temps in single digits.

Hopefully a few people will contact you and offer some assistance. BTW, welcome to the site.

• Like 1

Rugged is an understatement. Lots of elk in that unit though. I wouldn't overlook the lower pinyon juniper country either.

• Like 1

If you want to make it a once in a life time hunt and can't really make it down here just hire a guide

• Like 4

I will be there with my dad for the late rifle hunt pm me & i can give you some areas that hold elk.

• Like 1