PseAZ

Trying to decide....?

Scope options?   

30 members have voted

1. 1. Trying to decide on a scope for the wife.

• Athlon Argos BTR 6-24x50
    • Leupold VX-3i LRP 6.5-20x50mm
    • Vortex Viper HS LR 6-24x50 FFP

Im fairly new to rifles and bought the wife one in hopes she would start hunting with me. I bought her a ruger American in the 6.5 and I think ive about got everything lined out but cant decide on what scope to get her. what do you guys think between these 3 scopes? Im new to rifles I have a AR but this will be my and her 1st just trying to get her something solid she can hunt with.

• Like 1

Got the same rifle with the same vortex for the wifey.

• Like 1

I have used both the Vortex and Leupold scopes and got a LRP 6.5-20 for my GF. FFP at this point might not mean a whole lot to a new shooter, Leupold has a nice knob to easily zoom magnification up and down, a must to reduce frustration for new shooter trying to acquire target and elevation dial easy to understand. Only other thought is less magnification to make target acquisition and eye alignment with ocular lens less frustrating.

I appreciate the feedback guys, keep it coming. Trying to learn as I go. Anything helps just trying to get her into it with me. What do you like about the LPR over the Leupold ?

New hunter, new rifle in 6.5CM that won't be shot at game more than 600-700? I would gonlower in magnification range. Something like a 3-12, 3-15, 3-18, 4-16, 4.5-14 range. Much easier to locate game quickly when you are not used to fast target acquisition with the much wider FOV. Plus, 12-15x is plenty for shooting well past 1000 on medium game. I made myb2nd longest kill ever on a coyote @ 1327 with the Vortex Viper HS 4-16×50. And 2 coyotes @ 1365 on 17x.

If you want to stay with the same scope lines:

Athlon Midas HMR 2.5-15×50

Leupold VX3i LRP 4.5-14×50

Vortex Viper HS LR 4-16×50