Sign in to follow this  
creed

self inflating sleeping pads

I'm thinking of buying one of these but have concerns about how durable they are. And they are pricey. Any advice before I go out and lay down a bunch of money on one? Are they worth the money?

I have one and found they work great

I use it on a cot when camping

only issue is it is hard to roll up for me

For backpacking kinda.... if u can find one that fits you...for tent or truck or cot no way...

I have been using Thermarest for many years, have a couple different shapes but prefer the big long rectangle. Mine get used around 120 days a year and have stood up well.

If you are serious about backpacking they are a pretty critical piece of gear. I've slept on Thermarests for many years and considering the terrain I've camped in I think they are pretty well made. They also provide legit insulation from the ground and a comfortable place to sleep. Like any other outdoor gear, you pay more for the ones that weigh the least. I just bought a newer one with "waffling" and it's nice as the feature eliminates slipping off the pad, which was/is a common complaint for some of the older rectangular models. This is the model I have now and i like it quite a bit:

http://www.summithut.com/products/prolite-plus/

I also use it to insulate my cot when I car camp in cold weather and I have an older "giant" sized one like this: http://www.summithut.com/products/basecamp-pad/ I bought on Craigslist for truck bed sleeping.

I have used Thermarests for years....seem very durable to me. I have smaller ones for backpacking and larger ones for tent or car camping. One extra bonus of an inflatable pad is that you can use it to float down a river like I did!

I even upgraded to a super luxurious one with a foam pad on it, but that thing is a beast and takes up a lot of room when packing. But it's super nice! It's called the DreamTime XL.