Sign in to follow this  
Flatlander

*Monster Goat in the Dirt* 2014 Antelope Hunt

I have decided to create one consolidated thread that I will continually update in reference to my upcoming antelope hunt.

The fact that I have a hunt to prepare for at all is a testament to two principles related to tough-to-draw hunts in this state. First - You can't win if you don't play. Meaning, you better apply every year if you want a chance at getting a tough tag in this state. With 80% of the tags going to random draw recipients bonus points don't do much to help you for goat unless you are closing in on the bonus pass for a specific hunt (archery, because the bonus pass for firearms hunts aren't able to be caught). Second - Do your research. I studied the draw odds for years, did countless hours of data entry and researched what hunts might give me the best opportunity to pull a rabbit out of my hat with one of the toughest to draw species in the state. After all my research I determined what hunts gave me the best opportunity to somehow snag a tag and also allow me the experience I was hoping for. This year I drew the last permit for my hunt, meaning if I had applied for some other hunt because I didn't do all the homework and find the hunt that gave me the very best chances, I wouldn't be hunting at all. Okay, now that I have spoken about the stuff that is near and dear to my heart, I will get on with the details.

With a tag finally in my pocket I started doing my field homework reaching out to past tag holders, contacting the WM, calling landowner's and studying maps. Armed with enough info to make me dangerous I decided this weekend it was time to put the rubber to the road and start looking around. I loaded up my 4 & 5 yr old sons and headed North. Here are the results of our first day out.

The first buck I saw that peaked my interest:

post-5618-0-60332100-1403501215_thumb.jpg

post-5618-0-73944600-1403499746_thumb.jpg

Some more bucks: