bonecollector

Scope reticles

Im in the market for a new scope form my 6.5, im still new to the long range game. A lot of these scope reticles out there seem to have a lot going on and a little busy for my liking. My question is do you need all the hash marks if your dialing your yardage?

Thanks for your input

Nope.

I had an extra fine duplex installed in mine. It works perfectly

In fact if your dialing your yardage they only get in the way. Some will argue they are helpful that if you need to take a quick shot it's nice to have. Under 300y your don't need hash marks and at long range you normally have plenty of time.

• Like 2

I dial elevation too, but hold windage. With that, you need a reticle that has hold off marks. I like them at least .2MIL spacing for myself. Going from .6 to .8MIL hold off at 1000 yards is a big jump. And when you only have .5MIL marks, it is hard to know if you are holding .7 or .8 off. And that could easily be a miss. It would really suck to have to keep dialing L or R a click or three as winds shifted.

With .2MIL windage holds, usually comes .2 or .5MIL elevation marks. Not too busy for my liking, as I am not engaging targets from 600-1200 rapidly where you do not have time to dial like a military scenario. So no need for an H59 type reticle with a Christmas tree. But on a prairie dog town from 300-600 yards, it might be really nice if your spotter is calling your holds and yardages. And if you miss elevation by .3MIL (or 1.25MOA), wouldn't it be nice to just hold the extra correction for a quick second shot rather than having to reach up and dial (or guesstimate your extra hold)?

There is a reason those reticles are so coveted by the LR guys, and especially the guys who go in harm's way.

• Like 2

Nope.

I had an extra fine duplex installed in mine. It works perfectly