Sign in to follow this  
naturegirl

Hunting with an order of protection - Questions/Thoughts needed

Well, it turns out both my ex and I were drawn for the same hunt. I knew this was a possibility but not too likely since he has been drawn 3 out of 4 years now. I figured he would skip a year, but no such luck. We were both drawn for the same early archery bull hunt in 6A. I stuck with what I know for hunt choices because I want my freezer filled and I know my success will be highest in an area I've been stomping around for 13+ years.

I have an order of protection against him. I know it's effective in the woods as well as the city (and country for that matter), but how do I go about enforcing it? I personally would like to stake out my few small sections of 6a and ask him to keep away, but I don't know if that is the right way to go about it or not. We both know the same areas and the chances are high we would cross paths at some point or another. I don't believe he wishes at all to break the order of protection.

On a side note - I hunt alone, carry more than one weapon, and can protect myself. I'm not afraid of dying or anything like that, but what I wish for is that I can go out on my hunt and not be bothered or fear being bothered in any way by him. Again, I'll add I do not believe he wishes to break the order of protection.

By chance......has anyone else ever encountered anything like this or have words of wisdom? I will run it by my attorney, but he is not a hunter in any way, shape, or form....lol

Please don't take this the wrong way but if your not scared of him why do you have an order of protection?

• Like 4

Since you both have reasons to be in the unit maybe your best bet is to not hunt alone. Take someone you can depend on to be your eyes behind your head and accompany you while you hunt. Out in the woods anything can happen.

• Like 2