Sign in to follow this  
Goldfinger78

MY First Bull

To tell this story we need to go back 7 years ago when my brother in law Adam starting telling me I should try to hunt big game in Arizona.  I have always loved the outdoors and enjoyed fishing, but never truly had the desire to hunt.  Finally, after about a year of listening to Adam plead his case on why I should hunt, and also seeing my sister get a bull elk, I decided to put in for the draw.   Being that I was a rookie, I had no idea I would have to wait several years before I could hunt elk.  After two years of not drawing a tag Adam convinced me to put in for deer as well.  Well that was probably the best decision I have ever made.  Over the past 4 years I have had the opportunity to go on multiple big game hunts. Some of the hunts have been successful and some have not, but just being in the outdoors and growing friendships is reward enough for me.  Through all the ups and downs, I have developed a deep love and passion for hunting.  I have also been blessed with the fact that I get to share my passion with my son Thomas, who has been hunting along side of me for 2 years now.  Heck the kid has gotten two elk before I have even shot at one!!!  I might be a little jealous 😀

Let's move forward to the day I got a call from Adam letting me know that cards were being hit.  I was on my way to work and can still remember screaming loud over the phone, "I got MY bull tag!!!"  Adam even told me to calm down because I was so loud!!! It was six years in the making, but I finally got MY tag.